Freedom Optimists Honor Dr. Houck, Mr. Wilhelm

January 12, 1967

Two outstanding non-Optimists for the year 1966 were honored by the Freedom District Optimist Club at the club’s second annual awards dinner, held Tuesday evening, Jan. 3, in the Winfield Fire Hall.

Dr. R. V. Houck, Jr., named “Friend of the Boy” for outstanding work with youth in the community, and William Wilhelm, Sr., named “Friend of the Club” for notable service to the local organization, were presented plaques by Optimist Lt. Gov. William Jeffres.

Walter Hoffmester, president of the Sykesville Little League and last year’s “Friend of the Boy,” was in attendance and presented awards to sponsors of the league’s 1966 major and minor team winners.

Guest speaker was Gov. Noble Morgan, of the Maryland Distric of Optimist International. He was introduced by Hobart Wolf, Jr., who served as master of ceremonies. A member of the Arbutus club, Governor Morgan was elected at the annual convention held in May, 1966, in Ocean City.

Seven new members were inducted into the local club by Robert F. Nordhoff, Baltimore, secretary-treasurer of the Maryland Distric, Optimist International. They were: Bemen Davis, Harry Fischer, Leroy Welbe, Merle G. Barnes, Robert M. Solomon, Jack Southworth and Eugene Abbes.

John Pickett, Jr., president of the Freedom Optimists, announces that the speaker for the club’s next meeting will be Gerald D. Rains, chief of the Sykesville Volunteer Fire Co. The meeting will be held at the Cross Road Restaurant, Eldersburg, on Tuesday, Jan. 17 at 7:30 p.m.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: