Little League Season Set To Open Here Saturday

May 26, 1960

The 1960 season of Sykesville Little League Baseball is scheduled to get underway on Saturday afternoon, May 28 with official opening exercises and two games of ball on the local school grounds.

The opening exercises to begin at 1 P.M., include: Invocation, Rev. Walter Zabel; remarks, Walter V. Bennett, president; introduction of managers and teams, Robert H. Mercer, Jr.; Little League pledge by boys; raising of flag and playing of “Star Spangled Banner.”

Franklin W. Underwood, vice president of the Eldersburg improvement Association is to throw out the first ball.

Members of the four regular Little League teams are to be named on Thursday evening of this week. More than 100 boys are expected to be in this season’s farm  or minor league.

Team managers and coaches include:

Terps — Roscoe Fleming, manager; Gilbert Hoff, coach.

Yanks — Andrew Hobbs, manager; Jacob Gunther, coach.

Red Sox — Frank Brothers, manager; Clarence Spencer, coach.

Cubs — Frank Johnson, manager; John R. Shipley, coach.

John H. Welsh, Jr. has been named as supervisor of this year’s Minor League with James Erb as assistant.

The 1960 Little League officers include: President Walter V. Bennett; vice president, Dr. J. B. Koerner; secretary, Mrs. Carl Mielke; treasurer, Otis A. Harding; general manager and player agent, Robert H. Mercer, Jr.; board members — Russell Ebeling, Earl Carter, Gilbert Fleming, Miss Frances Dunlap and William B. Dorsey.

Committee chairmen include: Paul Smith, umpire-in-chief; Mrs. George Hush, official scorer; Mrs. Robert Mercer, Jr., finance; Carl L. Burdette, equipment; Oscar M. Dixon, grounds; Leslie H. Atkinson, Sr. and Lacy E. Gillis, refreshments; Mrs. Edmund M. Comfort, publicity.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: