Mayor Swain Now

May 9, 1918

Results of Municipal Election Held on Tuesday Last

The annual election for Sykesville was held on Tuesday at the usual place from 2 to 6 p. m. The only candidate for Mayor was Robert L. Swain, who was earnestly solicited to stand for the place, and he was unanimously elected. The members of the Council elected are as follows: Harry R. DeVries, George Schrade, I. B. Buckingham, William Melville, Harry M. Phelps and James Wheatley.

The only change in the Council is George Schrade in the place of Brook Mellow and James Wheatley in place of Dr. R. L. Swain, elected Mayor. This makes a very representative set of officials for Sykesville and we are glad that the affairs of the town will continue in good hands. Mayor Schrade and the old Council have served with credit and done the best they could with the resources at their command.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: