Optimists Attend 50th Anniversary Convention

July 4, 1968

The 50th annual convention of Optimist International was held June 16-20 at Louisville, Kentucky. Featuring the closing day of the olden anniversary convention were the grand finals of the Boys’ Oratorical contest. Winner of the top prize, a $2,000 scholarship, was Samuel A. Meier, III, 15, sponsored by the Glendale (Calif.) Optimist Club. Runner-up was Christopher H. Foreman, 15, sponsored by Baltimore (Md.) Optimist. He received a $1,000 scholarship.

Among the some 3,000 persons attending the convention were three delegates from the Freedom District Optimist Club and their wives: Mr. and Mrs. John E. Pickett, Jr., Mr. and Mrs. C. Edward Del and Mr. and Mrs. William Wilhelm, Jr.

Four clubs from Zone C were represented — Freedom District, Randallstown, Westminster and Reisterstown-Owings Mills.

There were 69 delegates from Maryland at the convention.

Gene H. Sternberg, of Granite City, III, was elected president of Optimist International for 1968-69. During the convention, it was announced that there are more than 10,000 Optimist members. One of the chief objectives of Optimist International is to aid and encourage the development of youth. The Freedom club has been very active in “Friend of the Boy” projects.

Howard Craig is the new president of the Freedom District Optimists. Retiring president Elmer Doan was presented a plaque at the June 25 meeting of the club.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: