Psychiatric Aides To Receive Outstanding Service Awards

June 6, 1968

Twenty psychiatric aides serving in the hospitals of the Maryland State Department of Mental Hygiene are scheduled to receive awards in recognition of outstanding work with mentally ill and retarded patients under their care.

The awards given annually by the Maryland Association For Mental Health and the Maryland State Department of Mental Hygiene, will be presented at 8 p.m., Friday, June 7, in the Rehabilitation Building at Eastern Shore State Hospital in Cambridge.

Speaker for the award presentation is Delegate Thomas Hunter Lowe of Talbot County.

Award winners and their hospitals are as follows:

Springfield – Mrs. Opaline Livesay, Main Street, Sykesville; Mrs. Yvonne Staples, Woodbine, and Mrs. Shirley L. Hughes, Sykesville.

Spring Grove – Mrs. Zelma Vivian Bruce, Baltimore; Mrs. Myrtle Johnson, Ellicot City, and Mrs. Ruth V. Collie, Baltimore.

Rosewood – Mrs. Caroline H. Conrad, Owings Mills; Mrs. Riddie S. Staton, and Manasseh Cromartie, Baltimore.

Institute for Children – Mrs. Edna Harris, Baltimore.

Eastern Shore – Mrs. Martha G. Hurley, and Mrs. Elizabeth A. McCready, Cambridge; Mrs. Elizabeth C. Chase, Vienna, and Mrs. Lillian R. Jolley, Cambridge.

Clifton T. Perkins – Wilton Gilliard, Baltimore; Ronald E. Carter, Baltimore, and George H. Daugherty, Washington, D.C.

Crownsville – Mrs. Dorothy Chambers, Annapolis; George Bounelis, Annapolis, and Mrs. Evelyn Honeycutt, Crownsville.

Approximately 3,00 psychiatric aides work with the mentally ill and retarded patients treated in the hospitals of the Maryland State Department of Mental Hygiene.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: