Town Budget, Tax Rate Approved; Howes New President Of Council

May 11, 1967

A budget totaling $32,841 for the town of Sykesville for the fiscal year beginning July 1, was unanimously approved Monday evening at a meeting of the Mayor and Council.

The town officials retained the local tax rate of 60 cents per $100.

Mayor Horace C. Jefferson presided. Present were all six members of the council–W. Henry Forsyth, Alvin L. Howes, Calvin C. Conaway, William Brandenburg, Mrs. Thelma Wimmer and Francis Manner.

Alvin L. Howes was elected president of the council.

Regular meetings of the Mayor and Council are to be held the second Monday of each month.

On Tuesday morning, Mayor Jefferson and town treasurer, Jay T. Smith, of Sykesville, were among a group of local and county officials who conferred with Governor Spiro Agnew and several of his aides in the State administration, at Westminster.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: