Women’s Club Donate $2,155 For Log Cabin Of Carroll Farm Museum

July 4, 1968

A fund of $2,155.00 was recently donated to the Carroll County Farm Museum by the Maryland Federation of Women’s Clubs, Inc. Donations were made to the Log Cabin Project of the Federation by 80 Clubs from the six Maryland Districts, comprising Western Maryland, Eastern Shore, Baltimore, Southern Maryland, Montgomery County and Prince George’s County.

The project was conceived during the administration of Mrs. Edward D. Storm, president, from 1966 to 1968, to depict the life of the frontiersman, and as a tribute to the pioneer woman. The fund will be held by the Farm Museum for the maintenance and ultimate furnishing of the Log Cabin at the entrance to the Museum.

Elmer P. Pfoutz, Board Chairman of the Farm Museum, in accepting the donation on behalf of the Board, expressed his deep appreciation to the Federation and its Affiliated Clubs for their most generous gift. He promised it would be used as designated, with a suitable plaque being placed in the Log Cabin. Pfoutz added that the Federation will be happy to know that present plans call for the addition of a log barn and log schoolhouse to be added to the Museum complex and it is hoped that by the time the new buildings are added, the Log Cabin will be furnished as it first existed in Carroll County.

The present officers of the Maryland Federation are Mrs. Walter R. Vollberg, Hyattsville, president; Mrs. John T. Crippen, Bethesda, first vice-president; Mrs. Carl N. Everstine, Baltimore, second vice-president; Mrs. Frank Vrana, College Park, recording secretary; Mrs. Roger I. Black, Rockville, corresponding secretary; Mrs. William Hobson. Frederick, treasurer; and Mrs. John Draper, Centreville, director of Junior Clubs. Mrs. Erhardt Schmall, Resterstown, was chairman of the Heritage Preservation Log Cabin Project.

The Carroll County Farm Museum is the only known Maryland museum dedicated to preserving the agricultural heritage of the State. It is located just one mile east of Westminster, the County seat of Carroll County. Follow signs from Route 140 to the Bishop Street entrance.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: